Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Charleston County Aviation Authority adds board members

Four board members have been appointed to the 13-member Charleston County Aviation Authority board.

Margaret Seidler and Henry Fishburne Jr. were appointed as new members. Billy Swails and Helen Hill were reappointed to the board. Their terms were effective June 1.

A 13-member board governs the Aviation Authority, which is a special-purpose district created by the state to operate and manage the Charleston International Airport, Charleston Executive Airport on Johns Island and Mount Pleasant Regional Airport.

Board members are selected for four-year terms by the Charleston County legislative delegation, Charleston County Council and Charleston City Council. 

Seidler is an organizational development consultant and author. She serves on the board of the Charleston Metro Chamber of Commerce and is chairman of Stand Up Charleston, the mayor’s task force for crime prevention through citizen engagement. 

Fishburne is a real estate broker, investor and developer, as well as a retired attorney. He has served on numerous public boards and was a Charleston city councilman from 1999 to 2007. He was mayor pro tempore in 2007.

Swails, a State Farm insurance agent, served as mayor of Mount Pleasant from 2009 to 2013, during which time he also served on the authority’s board. Before being elected mayor, he served on Mount Pleasant Town Council for 11 years.

Hill is executive director of the Charleston Area Convention and Visitors Bureau. Hill serves on several boards and commissions, including the Southeastern Wildlife Exposition and the Charleston Wine and Food Festival.

Source Article:  http://www.charlestonbusiness.com

No comments:

Post a Comment