Thursday, January 26, 2012

Knox County Regional Airport (KRKD) Seeks Nominees for Advisory Committee

The Airport Public Advisory Committee (APAC) of Knox County Regional Airport in Owls Head is requesting nominations for people to fill three of its seats that will become vacant in 2012.

The nine-seat committee is designed to provide a link between the midcoast communities, the airport manager and the County, by facilitating airport communications flow to and from local communities and citizens, as well as providing aviation, environmental and business advice for airport management.

Committee members are appointed, with staggered terms. Expiring this year are the terms for the District 3 seat (representing Appleton, Camden, Hope, Isle au Haut, Matinicus, North Haven, Union, Vinalhaven and Washington), the Business seat, and the Environmental seat. The County Commission will fill these seats, for three-year terms, during their April 10 meeting.

Nominations should be sent to Airport Manager Jeff Northgraves ( or any current member of the APAC by April 2. The APAC will compile the nominations and provide recommendations to the County Commission. Citizens interested in becoming a member of the APAC should notify their town office, Chamber of Commerce or environmental organization (prior to March 30). In addition, any citizen may also submit their interest to the County Administrator prior to April 5 or directly to their Commissioner prior to April 10.

The APAC normally meets the second Monday of each month in the airport manager's office at 4 p.m. There are three standing subcommittees (Environmental/Public Relations, Operations/Maintenance and Business Plan) which meet as needed. The meetings are open to the public and anybody interested in serving on one of the subcommittees should contact the airport manager or any of the APAC members:

District 1 Seat: Gray Smith, South Thomaston (term expires 2013);

District 2 Seat: John Curtis, Thomaston (term expires 2014);

District 3 Seat: Jim Kirstead, Camden (term expires 2012);

Environmental Seat: Kathy Allain, Owls Head (term expires 2012);

Nearby Citizens Seat: Pennie Alley, South Thomaston (term expires 2014);

Business Seat: Bill Maddox, Rockland (term expires 2012);

Airport Business Seat: Shane Burns, Appleton (term expires 2014);

Flying Club Seat: Dale Flint, Union (term expires 2013);

Commercial Pilot: Kevin Waters, South Thomaston (term expires 2013).

Additional information including the APAC charter, bylaws, meeting agendas and meeting minutes can be found at

No comments:

Post a Comment